## County Council of Cuyahoga County, Ohio

### Resolution No. R2022-0055

Sponsored by: County Executive	A Resolution confirming the County
Budish	Executive's appointments of various Mayors
	to serve on the Cuyahoga County Planning
Co-sponsored by:	Commission representing various regions for
Councilmembers Miller and	the term $1/1/2022 - 12/31/2024$ ; and declaring
Sweeney	the necessity that this Resolution become
	immediately effective.

WHEREAS, Ohio Revised Code Section 713.22 provides for the organization and maintenance of a county planning commission; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with Section 206.12 of the County Code, the Cuyahoga County Planning Commission membership consists of eight members appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by Council in accordance with Section 713.22 of the Revised Code and the County Charter, the County Executive, and two members of the County Council appointed by the President of Council; and

WHEREAS, members of the Cuyahoga County Planning Commission shall serve three-year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Cuyahoga County Charter Section 6.04, entitled Special Boards and Commissions, states that "[w]hen general law or any agreement with another public agency or court order provides for appointment of members of a special board or commission or other agency by the board of county commissioners, such appointment shall be made by the County Executive, subject to confirmation by the Council,"; and

WHEREAS, the County Executive has nominated the following individuals to serve on the Cuyahoga County Planning Commission representing various regions for the term 1/1/2022 – 12/31/2024:

#### Appointments:

- 1. Mayor Justin Bibb (Cleveland Region) (replacing Frank G. Jackson)
- 2. Mayor Edward Orcutt (Southwest Region) (replacing Michael D. Gammella)

# NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNTY COUNCIL OF CUYAHOGA COUNTY, OHIO:

**SECTION 1.** That the Cuyahoga County Council hereby confirms the County Executive's appointments of the following individuals to serve on the Cuyahoga

County Planning Commission representing various regions for the term 1/1/2022 – 12/31/2024:

#### **Appointments:**

- 1. Mayor Justin Bibb (Cleveland Region) (replacing Frank G. Jackson)
- 2. Mayor Edward Orcutt (Southwest Region) (replacing Michael D. Gammella)

**SECTION 2.** It is necessary that this Resolution become immediately effective for the usual daily operation of the County; the preservation of public peace, health, or safety in the County; and any additional reasons set forth in the preamble. Provided that this Resolution receives the affirmative vote of at least eight members of Council, this Resolution shall become immediately effective.

**SECTION 4.** It is found and determined that all formal actions of this Council concerning and relating to the adoption of this Resolution were adopted in an open meeting of the Council, and that all deliberations of this Council and of any of its committees that resulted in such formal action were in meetings open to the public, in compliance with all legal requirements, including Section 121.22 of the Ohio Revised Code.

On a motion by Ms. Baker, seconded by Ms. Turner, the foregoing Resolution was duly adopted.

Yeas: Simon, Baker, Miller, Sweeney, Tuma, Gallagher, Schron, Conwell, Turner, Stephens and Jones

Nays: None

County Council President

Date

Clerk of Council

Date

First Reading/Referred to Committee: March 8, 2022

Committee(s) Assigned: Human Resources, Appointments & Equity

Additional Sponsorships Requested on the Floor: April 12, 2022

Journal CC046 April 12, 2022