

MINUTES CUYAHOGA COUNTY COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE MEETING TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 27, 2016 CUYAHOGA COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE HEADQUARTERS C. ELLEN CONNALLY COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 4TH FLOOR 2:30 PM

1. CALL TO ORDER

Council Vice-President Jones called the meeting to order at 2:39 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Council Vice-President Jones asked Clerk Schmotzer to call the roll. Councilmembers Conwell, Brown, Hairston, Simon, Greenspan, Miller, Germana, Gallagher and Jones were in attendance and a quorum was determined. Councilmembers Schron and Brady were absent from the meeting.

Council Vice-President Jones then turned the gavel over to Councilmember Simon, Chair of the Education, Environment & Sustainability Committee, to chair the meeting for Items No. 3 and 4.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT RELATED TO AGENDA

The following individuals addressed Council regarding Resolution No. R2016-0137, a Resolution authorizing an Electric Service Agreement with City of Cleveland/Department of Public Utilities/Division of Cleveland Public Power in the amount not-to-exceed \$68,000,000.00 for electric power services:

- a) Mr. William Friedman, President and CEO of the Port of Cleveland
- b) Mr. Jim Semanik
- c) Mr. Maurice Rhoades

Mr. Maurice Rhoades also addressed Council regarding his concerns with the collective bargaining matters listed on the agenda as well as Cuyahoga Job and Family Services.

4. ITEM REFERRED TO COMMITTEE

a) <u>R2016-0137</u>: A Resolution authorizing an Electric Service Agreement with City of Cleveland/Department of Public Utilities/Division of Cleveland Public Power in the amount not-to-exceed \$68,000,000.00 for electric power services for various County-owned buildings for the period 9/1/2016 - 5/1/2028; authorizing the County Executive to execute the agreement and all other documents consistent with the agreement and this Resolution; and declaring the necessity that this Resolution become immediately effective.

Mr. Michael Foley, Director of the Department of Sustainability; Mr. Steven Dever, Board Member of LEEDCo; Dr. Lorry Wagner, President of LEEDCo; Mr. Rich Barton, Assistant Commissioner of Cleveland Public Power; Ms. Shanelle Smith, Deputy Director of the Department of Sustainability; Mr. Ronn Richard, President and CEO of the Cleveland Foundation; Mr. Pål Gjesdal, representing Fred Olsen Renewables; Mr. Michael Wise, Attorney for McDonald Hopkins; Ms. Sarah Robinson, Director of Economic Inclusion for Emerald Cities Collaborative; and Mr. Andrew Thomas, Director of Energy Policy at Cleveland State University, addressed Council regarding Resolution No. R2016-0137. Discussion ensued.

Councilmembers asked questions of Mr. Foley, Mr. Dever, Dr. Wagner, Mr. Barton, Ms. Smith, Mr. Richard, Mr. Gjesdal, Mr. Wise, Ms. Robinson and Mr. Thomas pertaining to the item, which they answered accordingly.

No further legislative action was taken on Resolution No. R2016-0137.

Ms. Simon then turned the gavel back over to Council Vice-President Jones to chair the remainder of the meeting.

- 5. DISCUSSION / EXECUTIVE SESSION:
 - a) Collective bargaining matters, including:
 - a Collective Bargaining Agreement between Cuyahoga County and Laborers' International Union of North America, Local 860, representing approximately 12 employees in 5 classifications at the Department of Health and Human Services/Division of Children and Family Services for the period 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2017.
 - a Collective Bargaining Agreement between Cuyahoga County and American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Ohio Council 8, AFL-CIO, Local 3631, representing approximately 70 employees in the classification of Assistant Public Defender for the period 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018.

Council Vice-President Jones announced that due to time constraints, Item No. 5 is withdrawn and will be introduced during the Regular Council meeting.

6. MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS

There was no miscellaneous business.

7. PUBLIC COMMENT UNRELATED TO AGENDA

There were no public comments given unrelated to the agenda.

8. ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to discuss, Council Vice-President Jones adjourned the meeting at 4:55 p.m., without objection.