JUDGES OF THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS PRIOR TO 1912

AS RECORDED BY SAMUEL P. ORTH IN A HISTORY OF CLEVELAND, OHIO VOLUME I 1910

APPOINTED FOR SEVEN YEARS BY THE GOVERNOR, WITH DATE OF APPOINTMENT

Benjamin Ruggles	June 6, 1810
Nathan Perry	June 6, 1810
August Gilbert	June 6, 1810
Timothy Doane	June 6, 1810
Erastus Miles	March 2, 1814
Elias Lee	March 3, 1814
George Tod	November 2, 1815
John H. Strong	May 28, 1817
Thomas Card	February 8, 1819
Samuel Williamson	February 5, 1821
George Tod (reappointed)	February 24, 1823
Isaac M. Morgan Nemiah Allen Samuel Williamson (reappointed)	February 26, 1824 February 8, 1825 February 5, 1828
Reuben Wood	March 29, 1830
Watrous Usher	February 26, 1831
Simeon Fuller	April 9, 1832
Matthew Birchard	April 22, 1833
Eben Hosmer	October 6, 1834
Josiah Barber	March 17, 1835
Van R. Humphrey	March 2, 1837
Samuel Cowles	September 18, 1837
Daniel Warren	February 8, 1838
Frederick Whittlesey	February 27, 1838
John M. Willey Reuben Hitchcock Benjamin Bissell	February 18, 1840
Asher M. Coe Joseph Hayward Thomas M. Kelley Philemon Bliss Quintus F. Atkins Benjamin Northrup Samuel Starkweather	July 14 1841 January 22, 1842 February 9, 1842 February 9, 1842 February 24, 1845 February 24, 1849 March 6, 1849 March 6, 1849 January 16, 1851

ELECTED BY THE PEOPLE FOR FIVE YEARS, WITH YEAR OF ELECTION

Horace Foote, 1853 Thomas Bolton, 1856 Jesse P. Bishop, 1856 Horace Foote (re-elected), 1858 Thomas Bolton (re-elected), 1861 James M. Coffinberry, 1861 Horace Foote (re-elected), 1863

ELECTED BY THE PEOPLE FOR FIVE YEARS, WITH YEAR OF ELECTION (CONT).

Samuel B. Prentiss, 1866 Horace Foote (re-elected), 1868 Robert F. Paine, 1869 Samuel B. Prentiss (re-elected), 1871 Darius Cadwell, 1873 G.M. Barber, 1875 J.M. Jones, 1875 E.T. Hamilton, 1875 J.H McMath, 1875 Samuel B. Prentiss (re-elected), 1876 Darius Cadwell (re-elected), 1878 E.T. Hamilton, (re-elected), 1880 Henry McKinney, 1880 G. M. Barber (re-elected), 1880 S.E. Williamson, 1880 James M. Jones (re-elected), 1881 John W. Heisley, 1883 E.J. Blandin, 1883 E. T. Hamilton (re-elected), 1885 Henry McKinney (re-elected), 1885 Carlos M. Stone, 1885 Alfred W. Lamson, 1885 Conway W. Noble, 1886 George B. Solders, 1888 William B. Sanders, 1888 E.T. Hamilton (re-elected), 1889 Carlos M. Stone (re-elected), 1889 Alfred W. Lamson, (re-elected), 1889 W.E. Sherwood, 1889 John C. Hutchins, 1892 W. Co. Ong, 1893 Thomas K. Dissette, 1894 Joseph T. Logue, 1894 Alfred W. Lamson (re-elected), 1894 Carlos M. Stone (re-elected), 1894 William B. Neff, 1894 Frank E. Dellenbaugh, 1896 Theodore L. Strimple, 1898 Thomas K. Dissette (re-elected), 1899 William B. Neff (re-elected twice), 1899 Joseph T. Logue (re-elected) 1899 Carlos M. Stone (re-elected) 1899 Simpson S. Ford, 1899 Francis J. Wing (appointed), November 27, 1899, to February 1, 1901 George L. Phillips (appointed), February 1, 1901 Jas, M. Shallenberger (appointed) December 14, 1901, to February 9, 1902 William A. Babcock, 1901 George L. Phillips, 1901 Thomas M. Kennedy (re-elected), 1902 James Lawrence, 1902 Duane H. Tilden, 1902 Madison E. Beacom, 1902 Theodore L. Strimple (re-elected), 1903 George H. Schwan, 1904 George L. Phillips (re-elected), 1904 Simpson S. Ford (re-elected), 1904

ELECTED BY THE PEOPLE FOR FIVE YEARS, WITH YEAR OF ELECTION (CONT).

Harvey R. Keeler, 1904 H.B. Chapman, 1904 C. Collister, 1908 Willis Vickery, 1908